Rivers Assembly ratifies suspension of 12 council chairmen


Members of Rivers State House of Assembly on Tuesday approved the suspension of the 12 council chairmen by Governor Nyesom Wike.

Wike last week announced the immediate suspension of the 12 chairmen on the grounds of failure to participate in a state function.

The local government areas affected are:  Okrika, Abua/Odual, Emohua, Degema,  Khana, Gokana,  Ahoada East and Ikwerre.

Others are:  Eleme,  Andoni,  Omuma and Ogu/Bolo local government areas.

The governor later sent a request to the House to seal the action already effected.

The Executive request was read by the Speaker of the House, Ikuinyi-Owaji Ibani, for adoption, debate and approval by the lawmakers during plenary.

Lawmakers, who spoke during the debate on the subject matter, said the governor’s action was in line with the Local Government Laws, 2018 as made by the Assembly.

While making his contributions, Chairman of the House Committee on Local Government, Kelechi Nwogu, said the suspension of the council chairmen will serve as a deterrence to those, who might feel that they are above the law.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here